Advanced Search

Jewelers of America Unveils GEM Award Nominees

Oct 27, 2021 6:00 AM   By Rapaport News
Comment Comment Email Email Print Print Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Share Share

Jewelers of America (JA) has revealed the nominees for its 20th annual GEM Awards.

JA will hand out the awards — which honor individuals and brands whose work raises the visibility and status of fine jewelry and watches — in three categories, it said Tuesday. Winners in Jewelry Design, Media Excellence and Retail Excellence will be announced during a ceremony on January 14 in New York.

The gala returns to a live format, following last year’s event, which took place virtually to ensure the safety of attendees amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

JA will also honor Stephen Lussier, chairman of De Beers Jewellers and De Beers Forevermark, with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The nominees in full are:

Jewelry Design:

Lauren Harwell Godfrey, owner of Harwell Godfrey

Brent Neale Winston, owner of Brent Neale

Beth Bugdaycay, owner of Foundrae

Media Excellence:

Annabel Davidson, editor of Vanity Fair on Jewellery, jewelry expert for Telegraph Luxury and regular contributor to

Melanie Grant, author of Coveted: Art and Innovation in High Jewelry and luxury editor of 1843 magazine, The Economist’s lifestyle publication.

Daisy Shaw-Ellis, Vanity Fair accessories director and Vogue jewelry director.

Retail Excellence:

Marisa Collections


Saks Fifth Avenue

Image: The nominees for jewelry design (left to right): Lauren Harwell Godfrey, Brent Neale Winston and Beth Bugdaycay. (Jewelers of America)
Tags: Annabel Davidson, Beth Bugdaycay, Brent Neale, Brent Neale Winston, Daisy Shaw-Ellis, De Beers Forevermark, De Beers Jewellers, Foundrae, gem awards, Harwell Godfrey, ja, Jewelers of America, Lauren Harwell Godfrey, Marisa Collections, Melanie Grant, MUSE, Rapaport News, Saks Fifth Avenue, Stephen Lussier
Similar Articles
Comments: (0)  Add comment Add Comment
Arrange Comments Last to First