Advanced Search

Antwerp Bourse Head to Lead IDC Board

Apr 23, 2019 4:41 AM   By Rapaport News
Comment Comment Email Email Print Print Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Share Share
RAPAPORT... The International Diamond Council (IDC) has elected Julien Drybooms as chairman of its board.

Drybooms is the chairman of the Vrije Diamanthandel diamond bourse in Antwerp, and the owner of Drybooms Diamonds. He is also a former chairman of HRD Antwerp, and has served on the executive committee of the World Federation of Diamond Bourses (WFDB).

“I am very pleased to take on this important position and I am honored to have been elected,” Drybooms said last week. “The IDC has been in operation for more than 40 years, and its role is just as important today as it has ever been.”

Paul van der Steen, an independent technology expert and consultant to the Belgian diamond industry, will be vice chairman.

The two will head the board, which also includes former IDC president Harry Levy, World Diamond Council (WDC) president Stephane Fischler, Rajender Gehani, Dieter Hahn, Christine Heiderich, Peter Hofer, Alan Loewe, Jochen Muller, Udi Sheintal and Meir Wertheim.

The IDC was established in 1975 to provide the WFDB and the International Diamond Manufacturers Association (IDMA) with standards for terminology, grading rules and working methods in the diamond industry.

Correction, May 12, 2019: Julien Drybooms is a former chairman of HRD Antwerp, not its current chairman. His company is Drybooms Diamonds, and not as stated in a previous version of this article.

Image: Julien Drybooms. (International Diamond Council)
Tags: Drybooms & Zonen, Harry Levy, HRD, HRD Antwerp, IDC, IDMA, International Diamond Council, International Diamond Manufacturers Association, Julien Drybooms, Paul van der Steen, Rapaport News, Stephane Fischler, WDC, WFDB, World Diamond Council, World Federation of Diamond Bourses
Similar Articles
GIATwo New Governors Join GIA Board
Nov 13, 2019
The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) has appointed Jeffrey Post and Tammy Storino as governors to its
Comments: (0)  Add comment Add Comment
Arrange Comments Last to First
© Copyright 1978-2019 by Martin Rapaport. All rights reserved. Index®, RapNet®, Rapaport®, PriceGrid™, Diamonds.Net™, and JNS®; are TradeMarks of Martin Rapaport.
While the information presented is from sources we believe reliable, we do not guarantee the accuracy or validity of any information presented by Rapaport or the views expressed by users of our internet service.