Advanced Search

New Board Members Join AWDC

Jun 11, 2012 11:28 AM   By Ricci Dipshan
Email Email Print Print Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Share Share
RAPAPORT... Members of the the Antwerp diamond community elected six board members to represent the diamond trade to the Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC). 

Kaushik Mehta and Ramesh Patel were elected as directors to represent firms with annual turnover of more than $125 million, while Santosh Kedia and  Javeri Shailesh were elected directors to represent firms with  annual turnover of $37 million to $125 million.   Finally, Samir Mehta and Jacques Weisz were elected as directors for the category of firms with annual turnover of less than $37 million.

Prior to the election, AWDC extended the period directors serve, from two to four years. Board members who remain in their position until the 2014 elections include Philippe Barsamina, Freddy Inzlicht and Jacky Korn, who represent the diamond bourses, Stephane Fischler, who represent diamond manufacturers, and Koen Vadenbempt, who is the AWDC's independent director. 

The board of directors will also elect a new AWDC president following the  retirement of current president, Nishit Parikh, who has served for two years.
Tags: Antwerp World Diamond Centre, Ricci Dipshan
Similar Articles
Rapaport Weekly Market Comment
Apr 18, 2018
Sentiment mixed as April trading slows. Manufacturers concerned about tight profit after De Beers raised prices
MJSAJewelry Group MJSA Appoints Council Director
Apr 16, 2018
Manufacturing Jewelers & Suppliers of America (MJSA) has appointed Joel McFadden director of its Council of Custom
© Copyright 1978-2018 by Martin Rapaport. All rights reserved. Index®, RapNet®, Rapaport®, PriceGrid™, Diamonds.Net™, and JNS®; are TradeMarks of Martin Rapaport.
While the information presented is from sources we believe reliable, we do not guarantee the accuracy or validity of any information presented by Rapaport or the views expressed by users of our internet service.