Advanced Search

WJA Awards Total of $65K to 45 Women

Jul 10, 2018 10:40 AM   By Rapaport News
Comment Comment Email Email Print Print Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Share Share

RAPAPORT... The Women’s Jewelry Association (WJA) has revealed the winners of its 2018 Excellence Awards scholarships and grants.

The group will award a total of $65,000 — raised through its Awards for Excellence Gala, individual member donations and sponsorships — to 45 women. Twelve of those recipients are students in programs focused on jewelry making and design.

“It is important that WJA encourages and continues to support the professional growth and educational endeavors of women in the jewelry and watch industries,” board president Jenny Luker said Monday.

“The recipients are all extraordinary and exceptional at what they do. We are excited to see what new opportunities they will bring to our industry.”

The 2018 scholarship and grant winners are:

Award: Carelle ($5,000)
Winner: Christina Miller, cofounder and former executive director of Ethical Metalsmiths.

Veteran Scholarship, sponsored by Jewelers Mutual Insurance Group ($5,000)
Lisa West, Gemological Institute of America (GIA) graduate and freelance computer-aided-design jewelry designer.

Cindy Edelstein Jewelry Design Scholarship ($5,000)
Julie Martin, founder of Scout Mandolin, a luxury brand that makes custom one-of-a-kind engagement rings, wedding bands and fine jewelry.

Gabriel Love Foundation Scholarship ($5,000)
Magan Byron, a student at the GIA.

The June Herman Designer/Creator Scholarship Award ($7,000)
Hsinyu Chu, GIA

Designer/Creator Scholarship Award ($5,000)
Hannah Hash, GIA

Designer/Creator Scholarship Award ($3,000)
Ekaterina Korzh, University of Iowa

Designer/Creator Scholarship Award ($2,000)
Zihan Yang, Savannah College of Art and Design

The Peggy Kirby Scholarship Award ($5,000)
Sidnee Tyree, Kendall College of Art and Design

Non-Designer Scholarship ($3,000)
Jacqueline Lapuck, GIA

Non-Designer Scholarship ($1,000 each)
Natalie Tjaden, University of Tennessee
Madison Desmond, GIA
Sarah Andrie, GIA
Jodi Webster, University of Kansas

Grant winners listed by WJA Chapter:

Austin: Mousumi Shaw
Boston: Lori Magno, Siran Varadian
Chicago: Arica DeArcos, Kelly Jacobson, Susanne Siegel, Stephanie Wishnoff
Colorado: Julia Mancarella
Dallas: Linda Friedel, Margueriette Hutchison
Lafayette: Mindi Courville
Los Angeles: Harvinder Keila, Tania Silpanone
Northern California: Deborah Durant, Brooke Miller, Rhoma Young
NY Metro: Maricha Genovese, Deborah Halperin, Delphine Leymarie
Ohio/Kentucky: Dawn Grady, Andrea Koenig
Providence: Marilyn Salvatore
Salt Lake City: Liz Deane
San Diego: Marreena Appleton, Jennifer DeMoro, Christine Lopez, Peggy Tsiamis
Seattle: Andrea Price, Danielle Saudino
Twin Cities: Julie Burkhart-Haid, Laura McDonald

Charlotte Preston “Gets it Done” Grant:
Nancy Hudson

Image: Ring by Ekaterina Korzh
Comment Comment Email Email Print Print Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Share Share
Tags: Awards for Excellence Gala, Excellence Awards, Jenny Luker, Rapaport News, wja, Women’s Jewelry Association
Similar Articles
Comments: (0)  Add comment Add Comment
Arrange Comments Last to First